Return to NetVUE Homepage Vocation Exploration Renewal Grants

Colleges and universities that are members of NetVUE are committed to fostering vocational exploration among undergraduate students. A number of institutions already have made long-term investments in these initiatives. Yet many NetVUE campus leaders have observed that institutional efforts need to be strengthened or renewed over time as program and organizational contexts evolve and as transitions occur among faculty, staff, and administrative leaders.

NetVUE Vocation Exploration Renewal Grants may be requested in amounts up to $25,000 for use in the 2016–2017 academic year to revitalize or otherwise strengthen long-standing programs. These efforts may renew a range of programmatic efforts including curricular, co-curricular, and campus chaplaincy. They also may renew an understanding of vocational exploration and institutional mission by the president and other cabinet leaders, especially where there has been significant administrative turnover since vocational exploration efforts were launched. Funds may be used for a range of purposes, but not for ongoing faculty and staff costs that the institution is presently providing, capital expenditures, major equipment purchases, or indirect or overhead costs; these expenses are to be covered by the institution. Rather, grant funds should be used to offset one-time costs of program renewal and implementation.

This initiative is administered by CIC with generous support from Lilly Endowment Inc.

Current Status

Grants were awarded based on proposals that explain (a) the purpose and goals of the proposed activities and their relationship to the ongoing vocational exploration program of the institution, (b) the extent of institutional support for the program to date, (c) the proposed elements in the program, and (d) the ways in which the NetVUE-supported efforts would be sustained by the institution after the grant period.

In June 2016, Vocation Exploration Renewal Grants were given to the following NetVUE members: Ashland University, Assumption College (MA), Bluffton University, Butler University, Calvin College, Elizabethtown College, Erskine College, Fairfield University, Georgetown College (KY), Goshen College, Grand View University, Gustavus Adolphus College, Hendrix College, Holy Cross College (IN), Hope College (MI), Houghton College, Luther College (IA), Manchester University, Marian University (IN), Messiah College, Millsaps College, Montreat College, Nebraska Wesleyan University, Our Lady of the Lake College (LA), Our Lady of the Lake University (TX), Palm Beach Atlantic University, Saint Louis University, Saint Mary's College (IN), St. Edward's University, University of Dayton, University of Indianapolis, Valparaiso University, and Wartburg College.

Contact Information

Questions about this initiative should be addressed to David S. Cunningham, director of NetVUE, at or (616) 395-6750..