Return to NetVUE Homepage Professional Development Awards

Apply Now

Colleges and universities that are members of NetVUE are committed to campus activities that encourage vocational exploration by students. Many NetVUE campus leaders have observed, however, that supplemental funding at even modest levels to support opportunities for the professional development of staff and faculty members would enable their institutions to strengthen vocational exploration programming for students. In an era of careful institutional budgeting, there can be a shortage of institutional operating funds for such professional development opportunities. NetVUE Professional Development Awards seek to address this need.

NetVUE Professional Development Awards may be requested in amounts ranging from $5,000 to $10,000 for use over one year for professional development activities that enhance the knowledge, skills, and expertise of faculty and staff members who play important roles in undergraduate vocational initiatives. The purpose of this initiative is to deepen the capacity of those who lead the intellectual and theological exploration of vocation on NetVUE member campuses. Funds may be used for a range of purposes, but not for ongoing faculty and staff costs that the institution is presently providing, capital expenditures, major equipment purchases, student programming, or indirect or overhead costs; these expenses are to be covered by the institution. Rather, the Professional Development Awards should be used to offset one-time costs of professional development activities. Grant funds could provide materials, expenses for travel and/or meals, and modest stipends.

This initiative is administered by CIC with generous support from Lilly Endowment Inc.

Current Status

In July 2014, Professional Development Awards were granted to the following NetVUE members: Augustana College (IL), Fairfield University, Ferrum College, Hendrix College, Hope College, Manchester University, Marian University, Samford University, Seattle Pacific University, St. Norbert College, University of the Ozarks, and Valparaiso University.
In July 2015, Professional Development Awards were granted to the following NetVUE members: Avila University, Bethany College (KS), Bluffton University, Calvin College, Carthage College, Catawba College, Columbia College, Earlham College, Edgewood College, Elmhurst College, Grand View University, Lindsey Wilson College, Malone University, Northwest Christian University, Pacific Lutheran University, Pfeiffer University, Saint Mary's University of Minnesota, Trinity Christian College, University of Saint Francis (IN), Warren Wilson College, and Wartburg College.
In July 2016, Professional Development Awards were granted to the following NetVUE members: Albion College, Bellarmine University, Belmont University (TN), Dominican University (IL), Dordt College, Lewis University (IL), Point Loma Nazarene University, Schreiner University, Simpson College, and University of Saint Mary (KS).

In July 2017, Professional Development Awards were granted to the following NetVUE members: Aurora University, Azusa Pacific University, Bay Path University, Bennett College, Concordia University-St. Paul, Eckerd College, Franciscan University of Steubenville, Gordon College, Goshen College, Hastings College, Heritage University, LeMoyne College, Maryville College, Marywood University, Mount St. Mary's University (MD), Muskingum University, Our Lady of the Lake University (TX), Saint Mary's College (IN), Southern Adventist University, St. Thomas University (FL), Susquehanna University, Thiel College, Transylvania University, University of Mount Union, Ursuline College, Viterbo University, and Wesleyan College (GA).

In July 2018, Professional Development Awards were granted to the following NetVUE members: Assumption College, Austin College (TX), Fontbonne University, Lipscomb University, Mount Mary University (WI), and Ouachita Baptist University.

Application Information

Grants will be awarded based on proposals that explain (a) the purpose and goals of the proposed activities and their relationship to the ongoing vocational exploration program of the institution, (b) the extent of institutional support for the program to date, (c) the proposed enhancements to the program, and (d) the ways in which the NetVUE-supported program would be sustained by the institution after the grant period.

To submit an application, please refer to the invitation and online application form:

Applications for the fifth round of funding are due by April 12, 2019.


All NetVUE member colleges and universities that will not be the recipient of another NetVUE grant during the 2019–2020 academic year are eligible to apply for funding.
This is the sixth annual round of selection for NetVUE Professional Development Awards. In the first five rounds, CIC awarded grants to 75 NetVUE member institutions. Approximately 30 NetVUE member institutions may receive awards in this round. The application deadline for the sixth round is April 12, 2019. Decisions will be announced by June 8, 2018, with funds dispersed soon thereafter. Funds may be used between July 1, 2019, and June 30, 2020. A NetVUE member institution may receive only one NetVUE Professional Development Award and may not receive another NetVUE grant in the same year.

Contact Information

If you have questions about the grant application, please contact Lynn Hunnicutt,  assistant director of NetVUE, at or (253) 535-7644, or David Cunningham, director of NetVUE, at or (616) 395-6750.