CIC Welcomes New Board Members

The CIC Board of Directors elected five new members during its January 4, 2019, meeting in Scottsdale, Arizona. Each member will serve a three-year term.

“CIC is pleased to welcome these outstanding campus leaders as members of the Board of Directors,” said CIC President Richard Ekman. “CIC continues to create many new programs, projects, and services and so needs a strong Board to guide planning and execution of these initiatives. I look forward to working with this diverse group of presidents who represent a variety of institutions in the United States and abroad.”

Barbara Farley headshotBarbara A. Farley

Barbara Farley has served as president of Illinois College since 2013. Previously, she was vice president for academic affairs and dean of the college at Augsburg University (MN). Farley has served higher education in the classroom and through administrative roles for more than 30 years in a range of liberal arts colleges and universities. She currently is chair of the board for the Association of Presbyterian Colleges and Universities and previously served as president of the Associated Colleges of Illinois, as a member of the executive committee for the Federation of Independent Illinois Colleges & Universities, and as part of the Tax Policy Committee for the National Association of Independent Colleges and Universities (DC). She earned a BA degree in business administration from the College of Saint Benedict (MN) and an MBA and PhD in business administration from the Carlson School of Management at the University of Minnesota.

Celeste Schenck headshot

Celeste Schenck

Celeste Schenck, president of the American University of Paris, was formerly its provost and dean, as well as professor of comparative literature. In 2004, she founded AMICAL, a consortium of American international colleges and universities across Europe, the Middle East, Central Asia, and North Africa that hold common missions and are collaborating to advance learning, teaching, and research through the development of library and information services and curricular resources across 27 institutions, 21 countries, and 19 languages. She also has served as president of the Association of American International Colleges and Universities, a presidents’ organization spanning American-style universities across the world. Schenck has edited two international series and published widely on women’s autobiography and poetry, critical theory, international development, and educational and pedagogical issues. She earned a BA degree in English, summa cum laude, from Princeton University and a PhD in comparative literature from Brown University.

H. James Williams headshot

H. James Williams

James Williams is president of Mount St. Joseph University (OH). Previously, he served as president of Fisk University (TN), as dean of the business schools of Grand Valley State University and North Carolina Central University, as dean of the School of Mangement for Delaware State University, and as a faculty member for several business schools. He also has practiced law and worked as an accountant for Ernst & Young. Williams has served on the boards of several nonprofit organizations as well as on the board of directors of Community Health Systems and the Greater Cincinnati Collegiate Connection. He has received three “Teacher of the Year” awards at Florida A&M University and Texas Southern University and numerous recognitions and awards for his work with students and student organizations. Williams earned a BS degree in accounting from North Carolina Central University, an MBA in accounting from the University of Wisconsin, Madison, a PhD in accounting from the University of Georgia, and JD and LLM, specializing in taxation, degrees from Georgetown University Law Center.

Mary-Beth Cooper headshot

Mary-Beth A. Cooper

Mary-Beth Cooper became the 13th president of Springfield College (MA) in 2013. Previously, she served as senior vice president for student affairs of the Rochester Institute of Technology (RIT), dean of students of the University of Rochester, and vice president for student affairs of St. John Fisher College (NY). Cooper chaired the board of directors of the YMCA of Greater Rochester and is past recipient of the RIT Four Presidents Distinguished Public Service Award. She is a member of the NCAA Division III Presidents Council. Cooper earned a BA degree in criminal justice from the University of Delaware, an MEd from the University of Georgia, an MBA from the University of Rochester, a PhD in education administration from Michigan State University, and a DM (doctor of management) from Case Western Reserve University.

Paul Pribbenow headshot

Paul C. Pribbenow

Paul Pribbenow has served as president of Augsburg University (MN) since 2006. Previously, he was president of Rockford College (now Rockford University, IL). He also was a research fellow at the Center for Inquiry in the Liberal Arts at Wabash College (IN), dean for college advancement and secretary of the board of trustees at Wabash College, vice president of the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, and associate dean of the Divinity School of the University of Chicago. Pribbenow serves on the executive committee for the Coalition of Urban and Metropolitan Universities and on the boards of directors for the National Campus Compact and the Oslo Center U.S. Foundation. Locally, he is chair of the Central Corridor Anchor Partnership and serves on the executive committee of the Minnesota Private College Council. Pribbenow holds a BA degree in sociology/political science from Luther College (IA) and an MA in divinity and PhD in social ethics from the University of Chicago.

View the full Board of Directors roster.