Participants Selected for 2016–2017 Executive Leadership Academy

​CIC is pleased to announce the 23 nominees who have been selected for the 2016–2017 Executive Leadership Academy (ELA). The year-long program prepares provosts and vice presidents, drawn from all divisions of the institution, for presidencies. The program includes two national seminars, readings, webinars, structured mentorship guidance, and considerable emphasis on individualized experiential activities designed to “fill the gaps” in participants’ professional experiences so that they are ready to assume all responsibilities in a president’s portfolio.
The opening seminar will take place July 11–13, 2016, in Washington, DC, and the closing seminar will take place June 19–21, 2017, also in Washington.
A participant in the 2014–2015 ELA reflected, “The entire program, including networking with colleagues, has had a significant impact on my professional development and growth.” Barbara Hetrick, CIC senior vice president, remarked, “It is gratifying to watch cohort after cohort of ELA participants as their careers take off and they assume presidencies; it is even more exciting when former participants nominate their own vice presidents to participate in the program. That is a stamp of approval from those who have actually experienced the program.” The ELA has a strong record of developing leaders.
The ELA is cosponsored by CIC, the American Academic Leadership Institute (AALI), and the American Association of State Colleges and Universities. Tom Kepple, president of AALI and president emeritus of Juniata College (PA), directs the program. For more information, visit

Executive Leadership Academy Success

59% of participants in the first cohort have moved to higher-level positions 
34% of participants in the 2014-2015 cohort have already moved up in the ranks


Alaska Pacific University
Tracy Marie Stewart

Bay Path University (MA)
Melissa Morriss-Olson
Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

California Lutheran University
Leanne M. Neilson
Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

College of the Ozarks (MO)
Sue R. Head
Vice President for Cultural Affairs and Dean of Character Education

Dakota Wesleyan University (SD)
Theresa I. Kriese
Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer

Fisher College (MA)
Melinda Cook
Chief of Staff/Vice President for Strategy, Planning

Gustavus Adolphus College (MN)
Mark J. Braun
Provost and Dean of the College

Lincoln College (IL)
A. Gigi Fansler
Vice President for Academic Affairs

Lynn University (FL)
Gareth P. Fowles
Vice President for Enrollment Management

Meredith College (NC)
Matthew Poslusny
Senior Vice President and Provost

Millsaps College (MS)
S. Keith Dunn
Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean of the College

New England Board of Higher Education (MA)
Michael K. Thomas
President and CEO
Our Lady of the Lake University (TX)
Marcheta P. Evans
Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean of the School of Professional Studies and Worden School of Social Services

Principia College (IL)
Joseph Michael Ritter
Dean of Academics

Queens University of Charlotte (NC)
Lynn Moorhead Morton
Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Randolph College (VA)
Wesley R. Fugate
Vice President and Chief of Staff, Secretary of the Board of Trustees

Randolph-Macon College (VA)
Grant Levi Azdell
Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students

Regis College (MA)
Kara Kolomitz
Vice President for Student Affairs

St. Edward’s University (TX)
Mary K. Boyd
Vice President for Academic Affairs

Transylvania University (KY)
Holly K. Sheilley
Vice President for Student Affairs and Director of Athletics

University of Jamestown (ND)
Polly Peterson
Executive Vice President

University of Sioux Falls (SD)
Brett Bradfield
Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

West Virginia Wesleyan College
Boyd Creasman
Vice President for Academic Affairs